Department of Psychiatry

MSC 09 5030
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131

Phone: 505-272-2223

Faculty Directory

This directory includes all Faculty. To search, type a name in the filter box.

NameTitleContact
Christopher Abbott
Christopher Abbott, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Medical Director, Seniors Clinic & Electroconvulsive Therapy Service;
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center

cabbott@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-9563

Swala Abrams
Swala Abrams, M.D.
Associate Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center; Medical Director, UNM Psychiatric Center COPE Clinic

sabrams@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2853

Deborah Altschul
Deborah Altschul, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
Deputy Director, Community Behavioral Health (CBH); Psychologist, CBH

daltschul@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-4991

William Apfeldorf
William Apfeldorf, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor
Vice Chair for Clinical Services; Division Chief Geriatric Psychiatry; Executive Medical Director of UNM Psychiatric Center; Training Director, Geriatric Psychiatry Fellowship Program; Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center

wapfeldorf@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6130

Pamela Arenella
Pamela Arenella, M.D.
Associate Professor
Director of Residency Training;
Medical Director, Resident Assessment Clinic;
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center Clinic

parenella@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-2400

Robert Bailey
Robert Bailey, M.D.
Professor
Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs, UNM School of Medicine;
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist

bbailey@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2525

Jerald Belitz
Jerald Belitz, Ph.D.
Professor
Chief Clinical Psychologist and Clinical Director of Programs for Children; Director, Clinical Psychology Internship Program (APA-Accredited);
Psychotherapist, Children’s Psychiatric Center

jbeliz@cph.unm.edu

(505) 272-2190

Jeanne Bereiter
Jeanne Bereiter, M.D.
Associate Professor
SOM Director of Narrative Medicine Program; Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children’s Psychiatric Center

jbereiter@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-5002

Snehal Bhatt
Snehal Bhatt, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Medical Director, Addictions and Substance Abuse Programs (ASAP);
Attending Addictions Psychiatrist

sbhatt@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-2400

Michael Bogenschutz
Michael Bogenschutz, M.D.
Professor
Vice Chair for Addiction Psychiatry; Division Chief Addiction Psychiatry; Executive Medical Director, Addiction Services; Attending Addiction Psychiatrist

mbogenschutz@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-8428

Julie Bohan
Julie Bohan, M.D.
Professor of Psychiatry, Emergency Medicine and Family & Community Medicine;
Medical Director, Addiction and Substance Abuse Program (ASAP) Primary Care Clinic; Attending Primary Care Physician, ASAP

jbohan@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-2400

Jonathan Bolton
Jonathan Bolton, M.D.

Associate Professor
Director, HSC Office of Professionalism

jwbolton@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Caroline Bonham
Caroline Bonham, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Vice Chair for Community Engagement; Director, Community Behavioral Health (CBH); Telebehavioral Health Specialist, CBH

cbonham@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Maria Yellow Horse Brave Heart
Maria Yellow Horse Brave Heart, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
Director of Native American and Disparities Research,
Community Behavioral Health (CBH)

mbraveheart@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-4993

Aaron Brodsky
Aaron Brodsky, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Medical Director, Geriatric Psychiatry Services, UNMPC and SRMC; Associate Training Director, Geriatric Psychiatry Fellowship;
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center and SRMC

abrodsky@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Carl Brown
Carl Brown, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Associate Residency Training Director, VA Medical Center;
Attending Psychiatrist, VA Medical Center Psychiatry Primary Care Clinic

carl.brown@va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x. 2150

Juan Bustillo
Juan Bustillo, M.D.
Professor
Director, Schizophrenia Research Program;
Medical Director Spanish Speaking Clinic and Clozapine Clinic;
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center

jbustillo@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-5581

Richard Campbell
Richard Campbell, Ph.D.
Professor
Director, Neuropsychology Services;
Clinical Psychologist and Neuropsychologist

rcampbell@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-8833

Jose Canive
José Cañive, M.D.
Professor, Psychiatry and Neurosciences
Director, Psychiatry Research, NM VA Health Care System;
Attending Psychiatrist, Raymond G. Murphy VA Medical Center

jose.canive@va.gov

(505) 272-2670

Scott Carroll
Scott Carroll, M.D.
Associate Professor
Medical Director, University Hospital Pediatric Consultation Liaison Service;
Chair, Committee on Student Promotions and Evaluation; Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist

scarroll@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4763

Jose Canive
John Carty, Jr., M.D.
Assistant Professor
Coordinator, ECT Program, VA Medical Center;
Attending Psychiatrist, VA Medical Center

john.carty@va.gov

(505) 265-1711

Diane Castillo
Diane Castillo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry
Associate Professor, Department of Psychology (Clinical);
Coordinator, Women's Stress Disorder Treatment Team, R.G. Murphy VA Medical Center;
Clinical Psychologist, VA Medical Center

Diane.Castillo@va.gov

505-265-1711 x. 2440

Diane Clawson
Diane Clawson, D.O.
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Pediatrics
Attending Pediatrician, Children’s Psychiatric Center

dclawson@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2384

Robert Coberly
Robert Coberly, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Medical Director, Inpatient Psychiatry, VA Medical Center;
Attending Psychiatrist, VA Medical Center

robert.coberly@va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x. 2631

Annette Crisanti
Annette Crisanti, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
Researcher and Psychiatric Epidemiologist, Community Behavioral Health (CBH)

acrisanti@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6238

Mario Cruz
Mario Cruz, M.D.

Associate Professor
HSC Associate Chief Medical Information Officer, Ambulatory Services;
Medical Director, Recovery & Resiliency Program; Medical Information Officer;
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center

macruz@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-9141

Chandra Cullen
Raven Cuellar, Ph.D.
Post Doctoral Fellow
Community Behavioral Health (CBH)

ravencuellar@salud.unm.edu

Chandra Cullen
Chandra Cullen, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children's Psychiatric Center

ccullen@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-5002

Anilla Del Fabbro
Anilla Del Fabbro, M.D.
Associate Professor
Training Director, Child & Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship; Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children's Psychiatric Center 

adelfabbro@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-5002

Deborah Dellmore
Deborah Dellmore, M.D.
Associate Professor
Director of Medical Student Education in Psychiatry;
Attending Psychiatrist, UPC Clinic

ddellmore@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4874

University Psychiatric Consultants
(505) 272-6130

Daniel Duhigg
Daniel Duhigg, D.O., M.B.A.
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Neurology
Training Director, Addiction Psychiatry Fellowship;
Attending Addiction Psychiatrist

dduhigg@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-3160

Rodrigo Escalona
Rodrigo Escalona, M.D.

Professor
Vice Chair for Veterans Administration;
Chief, Behavioral Health Care Line, NM VA Health Care System;
Chief, Psychiatry Service, NM VA Health Care System;
Attending Physician, Inpatient Psychiatry, VA Medical Center

escalona@unm.edu

(505) 265-1711 x 2440

Molly Faulkner
Molly Faulkner, Ph.D., CNP, LISW

Lecturer III, Child & Adolescent Psychiatry
Clinical Director, State Work Force Initiative; Nurse Practitioner, Community Behavioral Health (CBH)

mfaulkner@salud.unm.edu

(505) 239-8256

Jan Fawcett
Jan Fawcett, M.D.
Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, UPC Clinic, UNM Psychiatric Center

jfawcett@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4874

University Psychiatric Consultants
(505) 272-6130

Sarah Feldstein Ewing
Sarah W. Feldstein Ewing, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Clinical Director, Adolescent Substance Use Disorders Program, ASAP

swfeld@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Giselle Ferreira, M.D.
Giselle Ferreira, M.D. 
Assistant Professor
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children's Psychiatric Center

GFerreira@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Brandi Fink, Ph.D.
Brandi C. Fink, Ph.D
Assistant Professor
CTSC KL2 Scholar

BCFink@unm.edu

(505) 272-6045

Alyssa Forcehimes
Alyssa Forcehimes, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Project Director, NIDA Clinical Trial Network Protocol 0047, CASAA;
Addictions Clinical Psychologist

aforcehimes@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-2399

Alyssa Forcehimes
Bellelizabeth Foster, MD
Assistant Professor
Medical Director, Adolescent Substance Use Disorders Clinic, ASAP

befoster@salud.unm.edu

(505) 994-7999

Gregory Franchini
Gregory Franchini, M.D.
Associate Professor Emeritus
Director of Wellness Programs, Office of Student Affairs

gfranchini@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-3414

Kathryn Fraser
Kathryn Fraser, M.D.
Associate Professor
Chair, Resident Clinical Competency Committee;
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center

kfraser@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2800
After language option, press 1 for outpatient and then press 2 for RRP.

Cynthia Geppert
Cynthia Geppert, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor
Chief, Consultation Psychiatry and Ethics, NM VA Health Care System;
Director of Ethics Education;
Attending Psychiatrist, VA Medical Center

cgeppert@salud.unm.edu

(505) 265-1711 x. 2218

David Graeber
David Graeber, M.D.
Professor
Vice Chair for Child & Adolescent Psychiatry;
Medical Director, Child & Adolescent Programs;
Division Director, Child & Adolescent Psychiatry;
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist

dgraeber@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-5002

Kathleen Haaland

Kathleen Haaland, Ph.D., ABPP-CN

Professor, Psychiatry and Neurology
VA Research Career Scientist and Clinical Neuropsychologist, NM VA Health Care System

khaaland@unm.edu

(505) 265-1711 x. 6407

Brant Hager
Brant Hager, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Assistant Medical Student Clerkship Director; Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Truman Health Services and UNM Pain Consultation and Treatment Center; Consulting Psychiatrist, UNM Project ECHO

bhager@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Paula Hensley
Paula Hensley, M.D.
Research Associate Professor, Clinical Trials Research

phensley@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4810

Dina Hill
Dina Hill, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Clinical Psychologist and Neuropsychologist

dhill@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-8833

Brian Isakson
Brian Isakson, Ph.D
Assistant Professor, Clinical Director for Behavioral Health Integration and Expansion, Community Behavioral Health (CBH)

bisakson@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-4930

Anju Jaiswal
Anju Jaiswal, M.D.
Associate Professor
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children’s Psychiatric Center

ajaiswal@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2890

Jeff Katzman
Jeff Katzman, M.D.
Professor
Vice Chair for Education and Academic Affairs;
Medical Director, UPC Clinic;
Attending Psychiatrist, UPC Clinic

jekatzman@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-5428

Mary Kaven
Mary Kaven, Ph.D.
Professor
Director of Assessment and Training
Clinical Psychologist, Children’s Psychiatric Center

mkaven@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-6176

Samuel Keith
Samuel Keith, M.D.
Milton Rosenbaum Visiting Professor and Chairman Emeritus
Director, IDEAS in Psychiatry

skeith@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-0518

Mohamad Khafaja
Mohamad Khafaja, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Associate Residency Training Director, Inpatient & Emergency Services, UNM Psychiatric Center; Medical Director, Geriatric Psychiatry Services, UNM Psychiatric Center; Medical Director, Psychiatric Emergency Service

mhkhafaja@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Cynthia King
Cynthia King, M.D.
Associate Professor
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children's Psychiatric Center Outpatient Services; Center for Development and Disabilities; and Young Children’s Health Center

cyking@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2890

Avi Kriechman
Avi Kriechman, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Child, Adolescent and Family Psychiatrist;
Telehealth Specialist, Community Behavioral Health (CBH)

akriechman@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6238

Eric Levensky
Eric Levensky, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Clinical Psychologist, VA Medical Center

eric.levensky@va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x. 4336

Stephen Lewis
Stephen Lewis, M.D.
Professor
Assistant Dean, GME;
Associate Director, Residency Training;
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center

sflewis@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Denise Lin
Denise Lin, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Attending Inpatient Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center

delin@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6130

David Mullen
David Mullen, M.D.
Professor
Medical Director, Children’s Psychiatric Center Inpatient Services;
Associate Director, Child & Adolescent Programs;
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Chilren's Psychiatric Center, Bernalillo County Juvenile Detention Center and UPC Clinic

dmullen@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-0053

George Nurnberg
George Nurnberg, M.D.
Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center;
Researcher, Center for Psychiatric Research

gnurnberg@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4167

Judith Pentz
Judith Pentz, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist;
Telehealth Specialist, Community Behavioral Health (CBH)

jpentz@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6238

Virginia Porterfield
Virginia Porterfield, M.D.
Associate Professor
Attending psychiatrist, VA Medical Center Psychiatry Outpatient Clinic

virgina.porterfield@med.va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x. 2218

Davin Quinn
Davin Quinn, M.D.

Assistant Professor
Training Director, Psychosomatic Fellowship; Medical Director, Consultation Liaison Psychiatry Service;
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center

dquinn@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4763

Lorerky Ramirez-Moya
Lorerky Ramirez-Moya, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children's Psychiatric Center

lramirez-moya@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-0371

Alya Reeve
Alya Reeve, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.N.P.A
Professor of Psychiatry, Neurology and Pediatrics
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center, UPC Clinic, CoC Neuropsychiatry Clinic, HDC, and Indian Health Service Consultant

areeve@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-2395

Maurits Rol
Maurits Rol, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, VA Medical Center Outpatient Division

maurits.rol@va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x 5407

Paul Romo
Paul Romo, M.D.
Assistant Professor;
Medical Director, Dual Diagnosis Clinic;
Attending Addictions Psychiatrist, ASAP;
Attending Psychiatrist, Assertive Community Treatment Program

promo@salud.unm.edu

(505) 994-7999

Rashmi Sabu
Rashmi Sabu, M.D.
Associate Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, Children’s Psychiatric Center

rsabu@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Joseph Sadek
Joseph Sadek, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Neurology
Clinical Psychologist, VA Medical Center;
Supervisor, Neuropsychological Assessment

jsadek@unm.edu

(505) 265-1711 x. 5407

Julie Salvador
Julie Salvador, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
Researcher, Community Behavioral Health (CBH)

jgsalvador@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6238

Julie Salvador
Nathaniel Sharon, MD
Assistant Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, Truman Health Services

nsharon@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-1312

Donna Sigl
Donna Sigl, M.D., M.S.
Professor
Vice Chair for Administration and Finance;
UNM Hospital Chief of Staff;
UNM Medical Group Physician Liaison;
Child & Adolescent Attending Psychiatrist

dsigl@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Shawn Sidhu
Shawn Sidhu, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children's Psychiatric Center

ssidhu@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2890

Helene Silverblatt
Helene Silverblatt, M.D.
Professor, Psychiatry and Family and Community Medicine
Director of Adult Programs, Community Behavioral Health (CBH);
Executive Director for Behavioral health, Office of the Vice President for Community Health;
Attending Psychiatrist, UPC Clinic

hsilverblatt@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-0544

University Psychiatric Consultants
(505) 272-6130

Lindsay Smart
Pedro Simpson, MD

Assistant Professor
Medical Director, VA Inpatient Eriatric Psychiatry Unit

pedro.simpson@va.gov

(505) 265-1711

Lindsay Smart
Lindsay Smart, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Clinical Psychologist, Children's Psychiatric Center

lsmart@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6238

sowar
Kristina Sowar, MD

Assistant Professor
Attending Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children's Psychiatric Center

ksowar@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2890

Shannon Stromberg
Shannon Stromberg, M.D.
Associate Professor
Medical Director, UNM Psychiatric Center Inpatient Services;
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center Inpatient Units

sstromberg@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2920

Shannon Stromberg
Peter Taylor, DO
Associate Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, VA Consultation Service (Geriatric)

peter.taylor6@va.gov

(505) 265-1711

Robert Thoma
Robert Thoma, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Clinical Psychologist and Neuropsychologist

rjthoma@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-8833

Christopher Abbott
Mauricio Tohen, M.D., Dr.PH, M.B.A.
Professor and Department Chairman

mtohen@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4357

E.H. Uhlenhuth
E.H. Uhlenhuth, M.D.
Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry Emeritus
Volunteer Senior Faculty Attending, UPC Clinic

euhlenhuth@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-8876

Luis Vargas
Luis Vargas, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Clinical Psychologist, Children's Psychiatric Center

lvargas@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2190

Gerardo Villarreal
Gerardo Villarreal, M.D.
Professor, Psychiatry and Neurosciences
Medical Director, PTSD Program, New Mexico VA Healthcare System;
Attending Psychiatrist, VA Medical Center;
Research Division Faculty Consultant;
Co-Director Brief Therapies Training Clinic

gerardo.villarreal@va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x. 4936

Ann Waldorf
Ann Waldorf, Ph.D.
Vice Chair for Behavioral Sciences; Clinical Psychologist

VWaldorf@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4167

Dora Wang
Dora Wang, M.D.
Associate Professor
School of Medicine Historian

dwang@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-1844

University Psychiatric Consultants
(505) 272-6130

Elizabeth Weil
Elizabeth Weil, M.D.
Associate Professor
Medical Director, STEPP and MIDD; Associate Residency Training Director, Outpatient Services, UNM Psychiatric Center;
Attending Psychiatrist, STEPP Clinic and Psychiatric Emergency Service

erweil@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2853

Claire Wilcox
Claire Wilcox, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, ASAP and Dual Diagnosis Clinic

cewilcox@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-1602