Faculty Directory

This directory includes all faculty. Search by name or one of the content areas listed below. Type desired information in the filter box. Do not hit the "enter" key.

Addictions:  Addiction psychiatry
Adult:  Adult psychiatry
Child: Child and adolescent psychiatry
Community: Community behavioral health (CBH), cross-cultural, holistic, public health, psychosocial/resilience, rural
Education:  Core faculty for training programs
Geriatric: Geriatric psychiatry
Neuroscience: Brain imaging, ECT
Research: Active publishing, grant writing

NameTitleAreaContact
Christopher Abbott, MD Associate Professor
Medical Director, Seniors Clinic & Electroconvulsive Therapy Service;
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center
Geriatric, Neuroscience, Research

cabbott@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-9563

Swala Abrams, MD Associate Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center; Medical Director, UNM Psychiatric Center COPE Clinic
Adult, Community

sabrams@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2853

Deborah Altschul, PhD Associate Professor
Division Chief, Community Behavioral Health; Clinical Psychologist
Community, Research

daltschul@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-4991

Pamela Arenella, MD Associate Professor
Director of Residency Training;
Vice Chair for Education;
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center Clinic
Addictions, Education, Research

parenella@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-2400

Robert Bailey, MD Professor
Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs, UNM School of Medicine;
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist
Child, Education

bbailey@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2525

Jerald Belitz, PhD Professor
Clinical Director of Programs for Children; Director, Clinical Psychology Internship Program (APA-Accredited);
Psychotherapist, Children’s Psychiatric Center
Child, Education

jbeliz@cph.unm.edu

(505) 272-2190

Jeanne Bereiter, MD Associate Professor
SOM Director of Narrative Medicine Program; Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children’s Psychiatric Center
Child, Community, Education

jbereiter@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-5002

Snehal Bhatt, MD Associate Professor
Division Chief, Addiction Psychiatry;
Attending Addictions Psychiatrist

Addictions, Education

sbhatt@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-2400

Julie Bohan, MD Professor Emeritus of Psychiatry, Emergency Medicine and FCM;
Mentor and Academy Head, SOM Medical Student Affairs Learning Communities Program
Addictions, Education

jbohan@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-2400

Jonathan Bolton, MD

Associate Professor
Director, HSC Office of Professionalism
Medical Director, UPC Faculty Clinic

Adult, Community

jwbolton@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Caroline Bonham, MD Associate Professor
Vice Chair for Community Engagement;
Telebehavioral Health Specialist, CBH
Community, Education, Research

cbonham@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Maria Yellow Horse Brave Heart, PhD Associate Professor
Director of Native American and Disparities Research,
Community Behavioral Health (CBH)
Community, Research

mbraveheart@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-4993

Art Brambila, PhD Associate Professor
Clinical Psychologist; Treatment Services Director, CPC inpatient services
UNMH Children's Psychiatric Center

Child, Education

Abrambila@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2890

Carl Brown, MD Assistant Professor
Associate Residency Training Director, VA Medical Center;
Attending Psychiatrist, VA Medical Center Psychiatry Primary Care Clinic
Education, VA

carl.brown@va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x. 2150

Juan Bustillo, MD Professor
Director of Research, Director of Schizophrenia Research Program;
Medical Director Spanish Speaking Clinic and Clozapine Clinic;
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center
Neuroscience, Research

jbustillo@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-5581

Kimothi Cain, MD Assistant Professor
Medical Director, Behavioral Health Integration and Expansion;
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center and Primary Care Integration
Neuroscience, Research

KCain@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Richard Campbell, PhD Professor
Director, Neuropsychology Services;
Clinical Psychologist and Neuropsychologist
Child, Neuroscience, Research

rcampbell@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-8833

José Cañive, MD Distinguished Professor, Psychiatry and Neurosciences Neuroscience, Research, VA

jose.canive@va.gov

(505) 272-2670

Scott Carroll, MD Associate Professor
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist
Child, Education

scarroll@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4763

John Carty, Jr., MD Assistant Professor
Coordinator, ECT Program, VA Medical Center;
Attending Psychiatrist, VA Medical Center
Education, VA

john.carty@va.gov

(505) 265-1711

Leslie Chavez, MD Assistant Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, UNMPC

LELCavez@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Diane Clawson, DO Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Pediatrics
Attending Pediatrician, Children’s Psychiatric Center
Child

dclawson@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2384

Robert Coberly, MD Assistant Professor
Medical Director, Inpatient Psychiatry, VA Medical Center;
Attending Psychiatrist, VA Medical Center
VA

robert.coberly@va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x. 2631

Annette Crisanti, PhD Associate Professor
Researcher and Psychiatric Epidemiologist, Community Behavioral Health (CBH)
Addictions, Community, Research

acrisanti@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6238

Mario Cruz, MD Professor; HSC Associate Chief Medical Information Officer, Ambulatory Services; Medical Director, Recovery & Resiliency Program; Medical Information Officer; Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center Adult, Community

macruz@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-9141

Chandra Cullen, MD Associate Professor
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children's Psychiatric Center; Training Director, Child & Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship Program
Child, Education

ccullen@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-5002

Anilla Del Fabbro, MD Associate Professor
Vice Chair, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry;
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children's Psychiatric Center 
Child, Community, Education

adelfabbro@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-5002

Deborah Dellmore, MD Associate Professor
Director of Medical Student Education in Psychiatry;
Attending Psychiatrist, UPC Clinic
Adult, Education

ddellmore@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4874

University Psychiatric Consultants
(505) 272-6130

Lucas Dunklee, MD Assistant Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, UNMPC

LDunklee@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Rodrigo Escalona, MD

Professor
Vice Chair for Veterans Administration;
Chief, Behavioral Health Care Line, NM VA Health Care System;
Chief, Psychiatry Service, NM VA Health Care System;
Attending Physician, Inpatient Psychiatry, VA Medical Center

Education, Neuroscience, VA

escalona@unm.edu

(505) 265-1711 x 2440

Gilbert Esser, MD

Assistant Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, VA Medical Center

Education, Neuroscience, VA

Gesser@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Daniel Evans, MD

Visiting Assistant Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, Behavioral Health Consultation and Integration

DAEvans@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Stephanie Fallon, MD

Associate Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, VAMC, Telehealth and Rural Psychiatry

stephanie.fallon@va.gov

(505) 272-2223

Molly Faulkner, PhD, CNP, LISW

Lecturer III
Clinical Director, State Work Force Initiative; Nurse Practitioner, Community Behavioral Health (CBH)

Child, Community, Education

mfaulkner@salud.unm.edu

(505) 239-8256

Jan Fawcett, MD Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, UPC Clinic, UNM Psychiatric Center
Adult, Education, Research

jfawcett@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4874

University Psychiatric Consultants
(505) 272-6130

Giselle Ferreira, MD Assistant Professor
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children's Psychiatric Center
Child, Education

GFerreira@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Brandi C. Fink, PhD Assistant Professor
CTSC KL2 Scholar; Clinical Psychologist, SRMC
Addictions, Adult, Neuroscience, Research

BCFink@unm.edu

(505) 272-6045

Bellelizabeth Foster, MD Assistant Professor
Medical Director, Adolescent Substance Use Disorders Clinic, ASAP
Addictions, Child

befoster@salud.unm.edu

(505) 994-7999

Kathryn Fraser, MD Associate Professor
Chair, Resident Clinical Competency Committee;
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center;
Medical Director of START Clinic
Adult, Education

kfraser@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2800
(follow phone tree to START)

Cynthia Geppert, MD Professor
Chief, Consultation Psychiatry and Ethics, NM VA Health Care System;
Director of Ethics Education;
Attending Psychiatrist, VA Medical Center

Addictions, Education, Geriatric, VA

cgeppert@salud.unm.edu

(505) 265-1711 x. 2218

David Graeber, MD Professor
Medical Director, CPC Inpatient Services;
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist

Child, Education

dgraeber@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-5002


Kathleen Haaland, PhD, ABPP-CN

Professor, Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences and Neurology; Chair, Department Research Committee Neuroscience, Research

khaaland@unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Brant Hager, MD Assistant Professor
Medical Director, Behavioral Health at Truman Health Services; Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Truman Health Services 
Addictions, Education

bhager@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Paula Hensley, MD Research Associate Professor, Clinical Trials Research Adult, Research

phensley@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4810

Dina Hill, PhD Associate Professor
Clinical Psychologist and Neuropsychologist
Neuroscience, Research

dhill@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-8833

Brian Isakson, PhD Associate Professor, Clinical Director for Behavioral Health Integration and Expansion, Community Behavioral Health (CBH); Clinical Psychologist

Community, Research

bisakson@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-4930

Vanessa Jacobsohn, MD Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, Medical Director, ASAP Primary Care Clinic and
Attending Primary Care Physician, ASAP

Addictions,
Education

vjacobsohn@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Anju Jaiswal, MD Associate Professor
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children’s Psychiatric Center
Child, Education

ajaiswal@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2890

Jeff Katzman, MD Professor
Vice Chair for Clinical Services and Academic Affairs;
Executive Medical Director, UNMPC;
Attending Psychiatrist, UPC Clinic
Adult, Education

jekatzman@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-5428

Mary Kaven, PhD Professor
Director of Assessment and Testing
Clinical Psychologist, Children’s Psychiatric Center
Child, Education

mkaven@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-6176

Mohamad Khafaja, MD Assistant Professor
Division Chief, Geriatric Psychiatry;
Medical Director, Psychiatric Emergency Service;
Training Director, Geriatric Psychiatry Fellowship
Adult, Education, Geriatric

mhkhafaja@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Cynthia King, MD Associate Professor
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children's Psychiatric Center Outpatient Services; Center for Development and Disabilities; and Young Children’s Health Center
Child, Community, Education

cyking@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2890

Avi Kriechman, MD Assistant Professor
Child, Adolescent and Family Psychiatrist;
Telehealth Specialist, Community Behavioral Health (CBH)
Child, Community, Education

akriechman@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6238

Eric Levensky, PhD Assistant Professor
Clinical Psychologist, VA Medical Center
VA

eric.levensky@va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x. 4336

Stephen Lewis, MD Professor
VAMC
Adult, Education

sflewis@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Denise Lin, MD Assistant Professor
Attending Inpatient Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center
Adult, Community, Education

delin@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6130

Nancy Martin, MD Assistant Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, UNMPC

@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Rachel Miller, PsyD Assistant Professor
Clinical Psychologist CPC

RMiller@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Paula Mata-Molina, MD Assistant Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, CPC

@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Susan Miller, PsyD Associate Professor; UNM Interdisciplinary Chronic Pain Clinic
UPC Faculty Clinic
Clinical Psychologist
Child, Community, Adult

SSMiller@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Christopher Morris, PhD Associate Professor
Clinical Psychologist, SRMC Primary Care Integration
SMRC

CHMorris1@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Kati Morrison, PhD Assistant Professor
Pediatric Psychologist, Carrie Tingley Hospital

KTMorrison@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

David Mullen, MD Professor
Medical Director, CPC Outpatient Programs;
Associate Director, Child & Adolescent Programs;
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Chilren's Psychiatric Center, Bernalillo County Juvenile Detention Center and UPC Clinic
Child, Education

dmullen@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-0053

William Narrow, MD, MPH Associate Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center, COPE Clinic;
Medical Director, UNM Psychiatric Center Community-Based Services;
Research Faculty, Center for Rural and Community Behavioral Health, CBH
Community, Research

wnarrow@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

George Nurnberg, MD Professor Emeritus
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center;
 

gnurnberg@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4167

Judith Pentz, MD Assistant Professor
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist;
Telehealth Specialist, Community Behavioral Health (CBH)
Adult, Child, Community

jpentz@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6238

Virginia Porterfield, MD Associate Professor
Attending psychiatrist, VA Medical Center Psychiatry Outpatient Clinic
VA

virgina.porterfield@med.va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x. 2218

Davin Quinn, MD

Associate Professor
Division Chief, Behavioral Health Consoltation and Integration;
Training Director, Psychosomatic Fellowship; 
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center

Adult, Education, Neuroscience, Research

dquinn@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4763

Nate Rediske, MD Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, Medical Director of the SRMC Geriatric
Psychiatry Service, and Attending Psychiatrist, SRMC
Geriatric 

nrediske@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Alya Reeve, MD, MPH, FANPA Professor Emeritus of Psychiatry, Neurology and Pediatrics
 
Child, Neuroscience 

areeve@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-2395

Jennifer Rielage, PhD, Assistant Professor  
Clinical Psychologist, VA Medical Center
VA 

@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-2395

Paul Romo, MD
Assistant Professor;
Medical Director, Dual Diagnosis Clinic;
Attending Addictions Psychiatrist, ASAP;
Attending Psychiatrist, Assertive Community Treatment Program
Addictions

promo@salud.unm.edu

(505) 994-7999

Rashmi Sabu, MD Associate Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, Children’s Psychiatric Center
Child, Community, Education 

rsabu@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Joseph Sadek, PhD Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Neurology
Clinical Psychologist, VA Medical Center;
Supervisor, Neuropsychological Assessment
Neuroscience, Research, VA

jsadek@unm.edu

(505) 265-1711 x. 5407

Julie Salvador, PhD Research Assistant Professor
Researcher, Community Behavioral Health (CBH)
Community, Research

jgsalvador@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6238

Nathaniel Sharon, MD Assistant Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, Truman Health Services
Addiction, Adult, Child

nsharon@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-1312

Donna Sigl, MD, MS

Professor and
Vice Chair for Administration and Finance;
UNM Hospitals, Member Board of Trustees
UNM Medical Group Physician Liaison;
Child & Adolescent Attending Psychiatrist

Child, Education

dsigl@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Shawn Sidhu, MD

Associate Training Director - Rural and Community Training, UNM General Psychiatry Residency Program
Assistant Medical Director, UNM-IHS Telebehavioral Health Center of Excellence Contract
Assistant Professor, University of New Mexico Department of PsychiatryDivision of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Division of Community Behavioral Health

Child, Community

ssidhu@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2890

Helene Silverblatt, MD Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and Family and Community Medicine;
UNMHSC Executive Director for Behavioral Health, Office for Community Health; Director, New Mexico AHEC; Executive Director, Office for Community Faculty UNMSOM
Community, Education

hsilverblatt@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-0544

Pedro Simpson, MD

Assistant Professor
Medical Director, VA Inpatient Geriatric Psychiatry Unit

Geriatric

pedro.simpson@va.gov

(505) 265-1711

Lindsay Smart, PhD

Assistant Professor
Clinical Psychologist, Children's Psychiatric Center;
Clinical Director, Early Program

Child, Community

lsmart@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6238

Kristina Sowar, MD

Assistant Professor
Attending Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children's Psychiatric Center

Child, Education

ksowar@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2890

Shannon Stromberg, MD Associate Professor
Director of Adult Clinical Services; Director of Risk Management;
Medical Director, UNM Psychiatric Center Inpatient Services;
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center Inpatient Units
Adult, Education

sstromberg@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2920

Poone Haghani Tehrani, MD Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
Attending Psychiatrist, SRMC
Adult, SRMC

phaghanitehrani@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Robert Thoma, PhD Associate Professor
Clinical Psychologist and Neuropsychologist
Neuroscience

rjthoma@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-8833

Mauricio Tohen, MD, DrPH, MBA Professor and Department Chairman Adult, Neuroscience, Research

mtohen@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4357

Emiliano Valles, MD Assistant Professor
Behavioral Health Consultation And Integration
Medical Director, Adult Consultation Liason Service
 

EValles@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Gerardo Villarreal, MD Professor, Psychiatry and Neurosciences
Medical Director, PTSD Program, New Mexico VA Healthcare System;
Attending Psychiatrist, VA Medical Center;
Research Division Faculty Consultant;
Co-Director Brief Therapies Training Clinic

Neuroscience, Research, VA

gerardo.villarreal@va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x. 4936

Ann Waldorf, PhD Associate Professor Vice Chair for Behavioral Sciences; Clinical Psychologist

Adult, Community

VWaldorf@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4167

Elizabeth Weil, MD Associate Professor
Medical Director, STEPP and MIDD; Associate Residency Training Director, Outpatient Services, UNM Psychiatric Center;
Attending Psychiatrist, STEPP Clinic and Psychiatric Emergency Service
Adult, Community, Education

erweil@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2853

Claire Wilcox, MD Associate Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, ASAP and Dual Diagnosis Clinic
Addictions, Neuroscience, Research

cewilcox@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-1602