Department of Psychiatry

MSC 09 5030
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131

Phone: 505-272-2223

Faculty Directory

This directory includes all Faculty. To search, type a name in the filter box.

NameTitleContact
Christopher Abbott
Christopher Abbott, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Medical Director, Electroconvulsive Therapy Service
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center

cabbott@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-9563

Patrick J. Abbott, M.D.
Patrick J. Abbott, M.D.
Professor Emeritus
Attending Psychiatrist, Addiction and Substance Abuse Programs

pabbott@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Swala Abrams
Swala Abrams, M.D.
Associate Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center; Medical Director, UNM Psychiatric Center COPE Clinic

sabrams@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2853

Deborah Altschul
Deborah Altschul, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
Deputy Director, Center for Rural and Community Behavioral Health; Psychologist, Center for Rural and Community Behavioral Health

daltschul@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-4991

William Apfeldorf
William Apfeldorf, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor
Vice Chair for Clinical Services
Executive Medical Director of UNM Psychiatric Center
Training Director, Geriatric Psychiatry Fellowship Program
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center

wapfeldorf@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6130

Pamela Arenella
Pamela Arenella, M.D.
Associate Professor
Director of Residency Training;
Medical Director, ASAP Outpatient Dual Diagnosis Clinic
Attending Psychiatrist, UPC Clinic

parenella@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-2400

Robert Bailey
Robert Bailey, M.D.
Professor
Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs, UNM School of Medicine
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist

bbailey@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2525

Jerald Belitz
Jerald Belitz, Ph.D.
Professor
Chief Clinical Psychologist and Clinical Director of Programs for Children,
Psychotherapist, Children’s Psychiatric Center

jbeliz@cph.unm.edu

(505) 272-2190

Jeanne Bereiter
Jeanne Bereiter, M.D.
Associate Professor
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children’s Psychiatric Center

jbereiter@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-5002

Snehal Bhatt
Snehal Bhatt, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Medical Director, Addictions and Substance Abuse Programs (ASAP)
Attending Addictions Psychiatrist

sbhatt@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-2400

Michael Bogenschutz
Michael Bogenschutz, M.D.
Professor
Vice Chair for Addictions and Clinical Research in Psychiatry
Executive Medical Director, Addiction Services; Attending Addiction Psychiatrist

mbogenschutz@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-8428

Julie Bohan
Julie Bohan, M.D.
Professor of Psychiatry, Emergency Medicine and Family & Community Medicine
Medical Director, Addiction and Substance Abuse Program (ASAP) Primary Care Clinic; Attending Primary Care Physician, ASAP

jbohan@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-2400

Jonathan Bolton
Jonathan Bolton, M.D.

Associate Professor
Director, HSC Office of Professionalism
Director, Resident Psychotherapy Clinic

jwbolton@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-3048

Caroline Bonham
Caroline Bonham, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Director, Center for Rural and Community Behavioral Health (CRCBH); Telebehavioral Health Specialist, CRCBH

cbonham@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Maria Yellow Horse Brave Heart
Maria Yellow Horse Brave Heart, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
Director of Native American and Disparities Research
Center for Rural and Community Behavioral Health (CRCBH)

mbraveheart@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-4993

Aaron Brodsky
Aaron Brodsky, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Medical Director, Geriartric Psychiatry Services; Associate Training Director, Geriatric Psychiatry Fellowship;
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center

abrodsky@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Carl Brown
Carl Brown, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Associate Residency Training Director - VAMC
Attending Psychiatrist, Veterans Administration Medical Center Psychiatry Primary Care Clinic

carl.brown@va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x. 2150

Juan Bustillo
Juan Bustillo, M.D.
Professor
Director, Schizophrenia Research Program
Medical Director Spanish Speaking Clinic and Clozapine Clinic
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center

jbustillo@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-5581

Richard Campbell
Richard Campbell, Ph.D.
Professor
Director, Neuropsychology Services
Clinical Psychologist and Neuropsychologist

rcampbell@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-8833

Jose Canive
José Cañive, M.D.
Professor, Psychiatry and Neurosciences
Director, Psychiatry Research, NM VA Health Care System
Attending Psychiatrist, Raymond G. Murphy VA Medical Center

jose.canive@va.gov

(505) 272-2670

Scott Carroll
Scott Carroll, M.D.
Associate Professor
Medical Director, University Hospital Pediatric Consultation Liaison Service
Chair, Committee on Student Promotions and Evaluation; Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist

scarroll@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4763

Jose Canive
John Carty, Jr., M.D.
Assistant Professor
Coordinator, ECT Program, VAMC
Attending Psychiatrist, VAMC

john.carty@va.gov

(505) 265-1711

Diane Castillo
Diane Castillo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry
Associate Professor, Department of Psychology (Clinical)
Coordinator, Women's Stress Disorder Treatment Team, R.G. Murphy VAMC
Clinical Psychologist, VAMC

Diane.Castillo@va.gov

505-265-1711 x. 2440

Diane Clawson
Diane Clawson, D.O.
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Pediatrics
Attending Pediatrician, Children’s Psychiatric Center

dclawson@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2384

Robert Coberly
Robert Coberly, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Medical Director, Inpatient Psychiatry, VAMC
Attending Psychiatrist, VAMC

robert.coberly@va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x. 2631

Annette Crisanti
Annette Crisanti, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
Researcher and Psychiatric Epidemiologist, Center for Rural and Community Behavioral Health (CRCBH)

acrisanti@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6238

Kenneth Crumley
Kenneth Crumley, M.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor
Attending Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children's Psychiatric Center

kcrumley@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2890

Mario Cruz
Mario Cruz, M.D.
Associate Professor
Medical Director, UNM Psychiatric Center Outpatient Programs
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center

macruz@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-9141

Chandra Cullen
Chandra Cullen, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children's Psychiatric Center

ccullen@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-5002

Anilla Del Fabbro
Anilla Del Fabbro, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Training Director, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship; Attending Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children's Psychiatric Center 

adelfabbro@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-5002

Deborah Dellmore
Deborah Dellmore, M.D.
Associate Professor
Director of Medical Student Education in Psychiatry
Attending Psychiatrist, UPC Clinic

ddellmore@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4874

University Psychiatric Consultants
(505) 272-6130

Daniel Duhigg
Daniel Duhigg, D.O., M.B.A.
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Neurology
Training Director, Addiction Psychiatry Fellowship
Attending Addiction Psychiatrist

dduhigg@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-3160

Jeffrey Dunn
Jeffrey Dunn, M.D.
Associate Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, Center for Rural and Community Behavioral Health (CRCBH, UNM Psychiatric Center Psychiatric and Emergency Service (PES)

jedunn@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2174

Rodrigo Escalona
Rodrigo Escalona, M.D.

Professor
Vice Chair for Veterans Administration
Chief, Behavioral Health Care Line, NM VA Health Care System
Chief, Psychiatry Service, NM VA Health Care System
Attending Physician, Inpatient Psychiatry, VAMC

escalona@unm.edu

(505) 265-1711 x 2440

Stephanie Fallon
Stephanie Fallon, M.D.
Associate Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, VAMC

stephanie.fallon@va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x. 2218

Molly Faulkner
Molly Faulkner, Ph.D., CNP, LISW
Lecturer III, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

mfaulkner@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-0371

Jan Fawcett
Jan Fawcett, M.D.
Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, UPC Clinic, UNM Psychiatric Center

jfawcett@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4874

University Psychiatric Consultants
(505) 272-6130

Sarah Feldstein Ewing
Sarah W. Feldstein Ewing, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Clinical Director, Adolescent Outpatient Substance Use Disorders Program, CASAA

swfeld@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Giselle Ferreira, M.D.
Giselle Ferreira, M.D. 
Assistant Professor
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, CPC

GFerreira@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Brandi Fink, Ph.D.
Brandi C. Fink, Ph.D
Assistant Professor
CTSC KL2 Scholar

BCFink@unm.edu

(505) 272-6045

Alyssa Forcehimes
Alyssa Forcehimes, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Project Director, NIDA Clinical Trial Network Protocol 0047, CASAA
Addictions Clinical Psychologist

aforcehimes@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-2399

Gregory Franchini
Gregory Franchini, M.D.
Associate Professor Emeritus
Director of Wellness Programs, Office of Student Affairs

gfranchini@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-3414

Kathryn Fraser
Kathryn Fraser, M.D.
Associate Professor
Medical Director, UNM Psychiatric Center Recovery and Resiliency Program
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center

kfraser@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2800
After language option, press 1 for outpatient and then press 2 for RRP.

Cynthia Geppert
Cynthia Geppert, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor
Chief, Consultation Psychiatry and Ethics, NM VA Health Care System
Director of Ethics Education
Attending Psychiatrist, Veterans Administration Medical Center

cgeppert@salud.unm.edu

(505) 265-1711 x. 2218

David Graeber
David Graeber, M.D.
Professor
Vice Chair for Child and Community Programs
Medical Director, Child and Adolescent Programs
Division Director, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Attending Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist

dgraeber@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-5002

Kathleen Haaland

Kathleen Haaland, Ph.D., ABPP-CN

Professor, Psychiatry and Neurology
VA Research Career Scientist and Clinical Neuropsychologist, NM VA Health Care System

khaaland@unm.edu

(505) 265-1711 x. 6407

Brant Hager
Brant Hager, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Assistant Medical Student Clerkship Director; Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Truman Health Services and UNM Pain Consultation and Treatment Center; Consulting Psychiatrist, UNM Project ECHO

bhager@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Paula Hensley
Paula Hensley, M.D.
Research Associate Professor, Clinical Trials Research

phensley@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4810

Dina Hill
Dina Hill, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Clinical Psychologist and Neuropsychologist

dhill@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-8833

Brian Isakson
Brian Isakson, Ph.D
Research Assistant Professor, Center for Rural and Community Behavioral Health

bisakson@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-4930

Anju Jaiswal
Anju Jaiswal, M.D.
Associate Professor
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children’s Psychiatric Center

ajaiswal@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2890

Jeff Katzman
Jeff Katzman, M.D.
Professor
Vice Chair for Education and Academic Affairs
Medical Director, UPC Clinic
Attending psychiatrist, UPC Clinic

jekatzman@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-5428

Mary Kaven
Mary Kaven, Ph.D.
Director, Clinical Psychology Internship Program (APA-Accredited)
Clinical Psychologist, Children’s Psychiatric Center

mkaven@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-6176

Samuel Keith
Samuel Keith, M.D.
Milton Rosenbaum Visiting Professor and Chairman Emeritus
Director, IDEAS in Psychiatry

skeith@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-0518

Mohamad Khafaja
Mohamad Khafaja, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Attending Geriatric Psychiatrist, UNMPC Inpatient Geriatric Unit and Geriatric Psychiatry Outpatient Clinics

mhkhafaja@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Fazal Khan
Fazal Khan, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Attending Geriatric Psychiatrist, Sandoval Regional Medical Center
Medical Director, Geriatric Psychiatry Service, Sandoval Regional Medical Center

fmkhan@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Cynthia King
Cynthia King, M.D.
Associate Professor
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, CPC Outpatient Services; Center for Development and Disabilities; and Young Children’s Health Center

cyking@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2890

Avi Kriechman
Avi Kriechman, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Child, Adolescent and Family Psychiatrist
Telehealth Specialist, Center for Rural and Community Behavioral Health

akriechman@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6238

Eric Levensky
Eric Levensky, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Clinical Psychologist, VAMC

eric.levensky@va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x. 4336

Stephen Lewis
Stephen Lewis, M.D.
Professor
Assistant Dean, GME;
Associate Director, Residency Training;
Attending Psychiatrist, UNMPC

sflewis@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-5417

Denise Lin
Denise Lin, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Medical Director, UNMH ACT;
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center START Clinic

delin@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6130

Jonathan Lisansky
Jonathan Lisansky, M.D.
Associate Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, Psychiatry Primary Care Program – VAMC

john.lisansky@va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x. 2218

Teresita McCarty
Teresita McCarty, M.D.
Visiting Associate Professor Emeritus of Psychiatry and Family and Community Medicine, Undergraduate Medical Education

tmccarty@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-8028

David Mullen
David Mullen, M.D.
Professor
Medical Director, Children’s Psychiatric Center Inpatient Services
Associate Director, Child and Adolescent Programs
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, CPC, Bernalillo County Juvenile Detention Center and UPC Clinic

dmullen@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-0053

Samuel Nickell
Samuel Nickell, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Attending Outpatient Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center and UPC Clinic

sanickell@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

George Nurnberg
George Nurnberg, M.D.
Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center;
Researcher, Center for Psychiatric Research

gnurnberg@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4167

Judith Pentz
Judith Pentz, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist
Telehealth Specialist, Center for Rural and Community Behavioral Health (CRCBH)

jpentz@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6238

Stephen Perls
Stephen Perls, Ed.D.
Associate Professor of Psychiatry Emeritus
Psychologist, University Psychiatry Consultants

sperls@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6130

Virginia Porterfield
Virginia Porterfield, M.D.
Associate Professor
Attending psychiatrist, VAMC Psychiatry Outpatient Clinic

virgina.porterfield@med.va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x. 2218

Davin Quinn
Davin Quinn, M.D.

Assistant Professor
Training Director, Psychosomatic Fellowship; Medical Director, Consultation Liaison Psychiatry Service
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center

dquinn@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4763

Lorerky Ramirez-Moya
Lorerky Ramirez-Moya, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children's Psychiatric Center

lramirez-moya@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-0371

Alya Reeve
Alya Reeve, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.N.P.A
Professor of Psychiatry, Neurology and Pediatrics
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center, UPC Clinic, CoC Neuropsychiatry Clinic, HDC, and Indian Health Service Consultant

areeve@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-2395

Peggy Rodriguez
Peggy Rodriguez, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Medical Director, UNM Psychiatric Center Psychiatric Emergency Service
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center

prodriguez@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Maurits Rol
Maurits Rol, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, Veterans Administration Medical Center Outpatient Division

maurits.rol@va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x 5407

Rashmi Sabu
Rashmi Sabu, M.D.
Associate Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, Children’s Psychiatric Center

rsabu@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Joseph Sadek
Joseph Sadek, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Neurology
Clinical Psychologist, VAMC
Supervisor, Neuropsychological Assessment

jsadek@unm.edu

(505) 265-1711 x. 5407

Julie Salvador
Julie Salvador, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
Researcher, Center for Rural and Community Behavioral Health (CRCBH)

jgsalvador@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6238

Donna Sigl
Donna Sigl, M.D., M.S.
Professor
Vice Chair for Administration and Finance
UNM Chief of Staff
Executive Medical Director, Children’s Psychiatric Center – Outpatient Services
Attending Child and Adolescent Psychiatraist, Children's Psychiatric Center - Outpatient Services

dsigl@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Shawn Sidhu
Shawn Sidhu, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Attending Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children's Psychiatric Center

ssidhu@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2890

Helene Silverblatt
Helene Silverblatt, M.D.
Professor, Psychiatry and Family and Community Medicine
Director of Adult Programs, Center for Rural and Community Behavioral Health (CRCBH)
Executive Director for Behavioral health, Office of the Vice President for Community Health
Attending Psychiatrist, UPC Clinic

hsilverblatt@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-0544

University Psychiatric Consultants
(505) 272-6130

Lindsay Smart
Lindsay Smart, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor
Clinical Psychologist and Researcher, Center for Rural and Community Behavioral Health (CRCBH)

lsmart@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6238

Shannon Stromberg
Shannon Stromberg, M.D.
Associate Professor
Medical Director, UNM Psychiatric Center Inpatient Services
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center Inpatient Units

sstromberg@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2920

Robert Thoma
Robert Thoma, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Clinical Psychologist and Neuropsychologist

rjthoma@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-8833

Christopher Abbott
Mauricio Tohen, M.D., Dr.PH, M.B.A.
Professor and Department Chairman

mtohen@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4357

E.H. Uhlenhuth
E.H. Uhlenhuth, M.D.
Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry Emeritus
Volunteer Senior Faculty Attending, UPC Clinic

euhlenhuth@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-8876

Luis Vargas
Luis Vargas, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Clinical Psychologist, Children's Psychiatric Center

lvargas@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2190

Gerardo Villarreal
Gerardo Villarreal, M.D.
Professor, Psychiatry and Neurosciences
Medical Director, PTSD Program, New Mexico VA Healthcare System
Attending Psychiatrist, Veterans Administration Medical Center
Research Division Faculty Consultant
Co-Director Brief Therapies Training Clinic

gerardo.villarreal@va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x. 4936

Zoran Vukadinovic, M.D.
Zoran Vukadinovic, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Attending Addictions Psychiatrist, ASAP and Truman St. Clinic

zvukadinovic@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-2400

Dora Wang
Dora Wang, M.D.
Assistant Professor
School of Medicine Historian

dwang@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-1844

University Psychiatric Consultants
(505) 272-6130

Elizabeth Weil
Elizabeth Weil, M.D.
Associate Professor
Medical Director, STEPP and MIDD
Attending Psychiatrist, STEPP Clinic and Psychiatric Emergency Service

erweil@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2853

Claire Wilcox
Claire Wilcox, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, ASAP and Dual Diagnosis Clinic

cewilcox@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-1602