Brant Hager, M.D., Honored with Robert A. Senescu Memorial Scholarship Award

June 13, 2012

Brant Hager, M.D., was recently honored with the Robert A. Senescu Memorial Scholarship Award. This award is made from a fund established as a tribute to Dr. Senescu, through the generosity of his students, friends and colleagues. Dr. Senescu was the first Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry at the University of New Mexico School of Medicine (1964-73)

Although his interests were many, his primary commitment was to teaching, which he always found creative and challenging. His concerns were wide-ranging and were reflected in his work with mental health professionals in other medical disciplines, in the field of law, in the area of the humanities, and in the community itself.

According the award’s formal description: “This award is made annually to a fourth-year resident in recognition of work done during his or her four years of training within our Department. It recognizes a resident who has demonstrated exceptional abilities, is dedicated to patient care and has shown a special interest either in public sector psychiatry, by contributing to the community, or in academic work. Special consideration will be given to a resident who has been involved in a creative project (not necessarily an academic research project) undertaken with the intention of contributing in some way to the improvement of the human condition -- to the lessening of pain or the furthering of pleasure in life.”