Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences.

MSC 09 5030
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131

Phone: 505-272-2223

Chairman?s Staff Awards Announced

May 21, 2013

Chairman’s Staff Awards Announced

This year’s staff awards and nominees were recognized at an afternoon celebration on May 16. The Staff Awards are an opportunity for faculty and other staff to applaud the value that an exceptional employee adds to our organization. To be eligible, each nominee must be a regular staff member at UNM providing support to the mission of the Department of Psychiatry in the areas of research, education, and/or administration.

 Congratulations to these deserving employees:

Veronica Iturralde, Sr. Fiscal Service Tech, has been with the Department for 8 ½ years. “Veronica does what it takes to get things done,” said Sarah Thomas, Department Administrator, when she presented the award. “She is able to work as a strong individual as well as part of a team.” Barbara Watson, one of the Department’s accountants, described the awardee’s strong work ethic. She also spoke about Veronica’s willingness to take on whatever task is necessary and to develop and improve processes, all the while maintaining a cheerful and helpful attitude.

Nicholas Lemke, HS Associate Scientist I, Center for Psychiatric Research, has been with the Department for close to 3 years. According to his nomination form, “Nicholas has demonstrated exemplary leadership and professionalism and is a great role model to staff and faculty. In addition to administration, he has embraced his role as a data analyst.” Drs. Christopher Abbott and Juan Bustillo cited Nicholas’ efforts to learn numerous approaches and systems in order to achieve this additional responsibility and lead staff in projects that pertain to it.

Judith Rivera-Kamps, Medical Residency Coordinator, has been with the Department for more than 24 years. “Through many changes in faculty and staff in the Education Office, Judith has remained the one constant for the Residency Program,” said Sarah. “Her personal commitment to residents is unparalleled.” Mary Haley, Curriculum Development Coordinator, made special mention of Judith’s efforts in preparing for the recent ACGME accreditation site visit, including receiving acknowledgement from the reviewer for her work and organization. These contributed greatly to the program receiving its new 4-year accreditation.

Congratulations also go this year’s nominees:

Tara Biehl, Sr. Program Manager, CRCBH
Patrick Gallegos, Research Coordinator, Center for Psychiatric Research
Tracy Ingalls, Events Planner, Community Engagement, IDEAS in Psychiatry
Pari Noskin, Program Manager, Community Engagement, IDEAS in Psychiatry
Melina Salvador, HS Associate Scientist II, CRCBH
Linda Schenkel, Program Manager, Center for Psychiatric Research

The criteria for staff awards include a commitment to excellence in one or more of the following areas:

  • Consistently superior work quality
  • Exceptional reliability, effectiveness, trustworthiness, efficiency and/or productivity
  • Positive engagement in work-related activities, within the organization or the community, that exceed the assigned job description
  • Extraordinary service to internal and/or external customers including faculty, staff, other departments or divisions at UNM, patients, and our community and academic partners
  • Outstanding creativity and/or initiative that positively contributes to supporting the research, education, budgetary and/or clinical goals of the department