Faculty Directory

This directory includes all faculty. Search by name or one of the content areas listed below. Type desired information in the filter box. Do not hit the "enter" key.

Addictions:  Addiction psychiatry
Adult:  Adult psychiatry
Child: Child and adolescent psychiatry
Community: Community behavioral health (CBH), cross-cultural, holistic, public health, psychosocial/resilience, rural
Education:  Core faculty for training programs
Geriatric: Geriatric psychiatry
Neuroscience: Brain imaging, ECT
Psychosomatic: Psychosomatic Medicine Fellowship
Research: Active publishing, grant writing


Kathleen Haaland, PhD, ABPP-CN

Professor
Chair, Dept. of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences Research Committee
NeuropsychologistNeuroscience, Research

khaaland@unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

NameTitleAreaContact
Christopher Abbott, MD

Associate Professor, Division Chief, Psychiatric Neuromodulation, Medical Director, ECT Clinic, Attending Geriatric Psychiatrist, UNMPC Seniors Clinic

Geriatric, Neuroscience, Research

cabbott@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-9563

Swala Abrams, MD

Associate Professor, Medical Director, UNMPC COPE Clinic, Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center

Adult, Community

sabrams@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2853

Deborah Altschul, PhD

Associate Professor, Division Chief, Community Behavioral Health, Director, Health Services Research Mentoring, Clinical Psychologist                    

Community, Research

DAltschul@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-4991

Pamela Arenella, MD

Associate Professor, Vice Chair for Education, Director of Residency Training, Attending Psychiatrist, UPC Faculty Clinic

Addictions, Education, Research

parenella@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-2400

Robert Bailey, MD

Visiting Professor Emeritus, Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist

Child, Education

bbailey@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2525

Jerald Belitz, PhD

Professor, Clinical Director of Programs for Children & Adolescents, Psychotherapist, Children’s Psychiatric Center

Child, Education

jbeliz@cph.unm.edu

(505) 272-2190

Snehal Bhatt, MD

Associate Professor, Division Chief, Addiction Psychiatry, Attending Addiction Psychiatrist, ASAP

Addictions, Education

sbhatt@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-2400

Julie Bohan, MD

Visiting Professor Emeritus of Psychiatry, Family and Community Medicine, and Emergency Medicine, Mentor and Academy Head, SOM Office of Medical Student Affairs’ Learning Communities Program

Addictions, Education

jbohan@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-2400

Jonathan Bolton, MD

Professor, HSC Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Director, HSC Office of Professionalism, Medical Director, UPC Faculty Clinic

Adult, Community

jwbolton@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Caroline Bonham, MD

Associate Professor, Vice Chair for Community Behavioral Health Policy, Telebehavioral Health Specialist, CBH

Community, Education, Research

cbonham@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Maria Yellow Horse Brave Heart, PhD

Associate Professor, Director of Native American and Disparities Research, Community Behavioral Health Division

Community, Research

mbraveheart@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-4993

Art Brambila, PhD Associate Professor
Clinical Psychologist; Treatment Services Director, CPC inpatient services
UNMH Children's Psychiatric Center

Child, Education

Abrambila@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2890

Carl Brown, MD Assistant Professor
Associate Residency Training Director - VAMC
Attending Psychiatrist, Veterans Administration Medical Center
Education, VA

carl.brown@va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x. 2150

Juan Bustillo, MD Professor
Director of Research
Director, Schizophrenia Research Program
Medical Director Spanish Speaking and Clozipine Clinics
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center
Neuroscience, Research

jbustillo@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-5581

Richard Campbell, PhD Professor
Clinical Psychologist, UNMH Neuropsychology Services
Child, Neuroscience, Research

rcampbell@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-8833

José Cañive, MD Distinguished Professor, Psychiatry and Neurosciences Neuroscience, Research

jmcanmd@unm.edu

(505) 272-2670

John Carty, Jr., MD Attending Psychiatrist, VAMC Education, VA

john.carty@va.gov

(505) 265-1711

Leslie Chavez, MD Attending Psychiatrist, UNMPC Adult

LELCavez@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Yasin Choudry, MD Assistant Professor Attending Psychiatrist, Addiction Psychiatry Division Addictions

ychoudry@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-8428

Diane Clawson, DO Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Pediatrics
Attending Pediatrician, Children’s Psychiatric Center
Child

dclawson@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2384

Robert Coberly, MD Assistant Professor
Medical Director, Inpatient Psychiatry, Veterans Administration Medical Center
VA

robert.coberly@va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x. 2631

Annette Crisanti, PhD Associate Professor
Community Behavioral Health Division
Director of Research, Division of Community Behavioral Health
Addictions, Community, Research

acrisanti@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6238

Kenneth Crumley, MD Associate Professor Attending Child & Adolescent psychiatrist, Children’s Psychiatric Center Child and Adolescent

KCrumley@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2890

Mario Cruz, MD Professor
HSC Associate Chief Medical Information Officer, Ambulatory Services
Medical Director, Recovery & Resiliency Program
Department Medical Information Officer
Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center
Adult, Community

macruz@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-9141

Chandra Cullen, MD Associate Professor
Interim Vice Chair, Child & Adolescent Psychiatry
Medical Director, Children’s Psychiatric Center Outpatient Services
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children’s Psychiatric Center
Child, Education

ccullen@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Anilla Del Fabbro, MD

Associate Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, Children’s Psychiatric Center

Child, Community, Education

adelfabbro@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Deborah Dellmore, MD Associate Professor
Director of Medical Student Education in Psychiatry
Psychiatrist and Psychotherapist, UPC Faculty Clinic
Adult, Education

ddellmore@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4874

University Psychiatric Consultants
(505) 272-6130

Lucas Dunklee, MD Assistant Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, UNMPC
Adult

LDunklee@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Jeffrey Dunn, MD Associate Professor, Attending Psychiatrist, Division of Behavioral Health Consultation & Integration Adult and Community

JeDunn@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6130

Rodrigo Escalona, MD

Professor
Attending Physician, Inpatient Psychiatry, Veterans Administration Medical Center Inpatient Unit

Education, Neuroscience, VA

escalona@unm.edu

(505) 265-1711 x 2440

Stephanie Fallon, MD

Associate Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, Albuquerque VAMC, Telemental Health and Rural Psychiatry

Adult, VA

stephanie.fallon@va.gov

(505) 272-2223

Molly Faulkner, PhD, CFNP, LISW

Assistant Professor
Clinical Director, State Work Force Initiative
Nurse practitioner, Community Behavioral Health Division

Child, Community, Education

mfaulkner@salud.unm.edu

(505) 239-8256

Jan Fawcett, MD Visiting Professor Emeritus
Supervisor, START Clinic
Adult, Education, Research

jfawcett@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4874

University Psychiatric Consultants
(505) 272-6130

Giselle Ferreira, MD Assistant Professor
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children’s Psychiatric Center
Child, Education

GFerreira@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Brandi C. Fink, PhD Assistant Professor
CTSC KL2 Scholar
Clinical Psychologist
Addictions, Adult, Neuroscience, Research

BCFink@unm.edu

(505) 272-6045

Bellelizabeth Foster, MD Assistant Professor
Medical Director, Adolescent Outpatient Substance Use Disorders Clinic, ASAP
Training Director, Addiction Psychiatry Fellowship
Attending Addictions and Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist
Addictions, Child

befoster@salud.unm.edu

(505) 994-7999

Kathryn Fraser, MD Professor
Chair, Resident Competency Committee
Medical Director, Resident Assessment (START) Clinic
Adult, Education

kfraser@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2800
(follow phone tree to START)

Cynthia Geppert, MD, Ph.D Professor
Chief Ethics Officer and Chief of Consultation Psychiatry, NM VA Health Care System
Attending Psychiatrist, VAMC

Addictions, Education, Geriatric, Psychosomatic, VA

cgeppert@salud.unm.edu

(505) 265-1711 x. 2218

Nina Gonzales, M.D Assistant Professor Attending Psychiatrist, Behavioral Health Consultation and Integration Adult

NEGonzales@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2800

Brant Hager, MD Assistant Professor
Medical Director, Behavioral Health at Truman Health Services
Attending Psychiatrist, Truman Health Services
Addictions, Education, Psychosomatic

bhager@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-1312

Paula Hensley, MD Research Associate Professor
Clinical Trials Research
Adult, Research

phensley@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4810

Dina Hill, PhD Associate Professor
Clinical Child Psychologist, Neuropsychology
Neuroscience, Research

dhill@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-8833

Brian Isakson, PhD Associate Professor
Clinical Director, Behavioral Health Integration and Expansion
Community Behavioral Health Division
Clinical Psychologist

Community, Research

bisakson@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-4930

Vanessa Jacobsohn, MD Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Family & Community Medicine
Medical Director, ASAP Primary Care Clinic
Attending primary care physician

Addictions,
Education

vjacobsohn@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Anju Jaiswal, MD Associate Professor
Medical Director, Children’s Psychiatric Center Inpatient Services
Attending Child Psychiatrist, Children’s Psychiatric Center
Child, Education

ajaiswal@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2890

Jeff Katzman, MD Professor
Vice Chair for Clinical Services and Faculty Affairs
Attending Psychiatrist, UNMPC
Adult, Education

jekatzman@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-5428

Mohamad Khafaja, MD Assistant Professor
Division Chief, Geriatric Psychiatry
Training Director, Geriatric Psychiatry Fellowship
Medical Director, Seniors Clinic
Associate Residency Training Director, Inpatient and Emergency Services, UNMPC
Attending Psychiatrist, UNMPC Geriatric Psychiatry Inpatient Unit, PES
Adult, Education, Geriatric

mhkhafaja@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Cynthia King, MD Associate Professor
Attending Child Psychiatrist, Children’s Psychiatric Center
Child, Community, Education

cyking@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2890

Avi Kriechman, MD Assistant Professor
Child, Adolescent and Family Psychiatrist
Telehealth Specialist, Community Behavioral Health Division
Child, Community, Education

akriechman@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6238

Rhoshel Lenroot, M.D Professor Director of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry Research Attending Psychiatrist, Child & Adolescent Psychiatry Child & Adolescent and Research

RLenroot@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-8365

Eric Levensky, PhD Assistant Professor
Supervisory Psychologist, Primary Care, Behavioral Health Integration Service, NM VA Health Care System
VA

eric.levensky@va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x. 4336

Stephen Lewis, MD Professor
Interim Chief, Behavioral Health Care Line, VAMC
Attending Psychiatrist, VAMC
Adult, Education

sflewis@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Denise Lin, MD Assistant Professor
Medical Director, UNMPC Inpatient Service
Attending inpatient psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center
Adult, Community, Education

delin@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6130

Nancy Martin, MD Assistant Professor
Medical Director, UNMPC Psychiatric Emergency Service
Attending Psychiatrist, UNMPC
Adult

@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Jeremy Miller, M.D Assistant Professor Attending Psychiatrist, UNM Psychiatric Center Adult

JerMiller@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-8289

Rachel Miller, PsyD Assistant Professor
Clinical Psychologist, Children’s Psychiatric Center
Child

RMiller@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Susan Miller, PsyD Associate Professor
Clinical Psychologist, Interdisciplinary Chronic Pain Clinic
Child, Community, Adult

SSMiller@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Christopher Morris, PhD Associate Professor
Clinical Psychologist, SRMC
SMRC

CHMorris1@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Kati Morrison, PhD Assistant Professor
Pediatric Psychologist, Carrie Tingley Hospital
Child

KTMorrison@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

David Mullen, MD Visiting Professor Emeritus
Attending Psychiatrist, BCJDC
Child, Education

dmullen@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-0053

William Narrow, MD Associate Professor
Medical Director, UNMPC Community Based Services
Attending Psychiatrist, UNMPC
Community, Research

wnarrow@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

H. George Nurnberg, MD Visiting Professor Emeritus
Attending Psychiatrist, UNMPC
 

gnurnberg@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4167

Judith Pentz, MD Assistant Professor
Telehealth Specialist, CBH
Adult, Child, Community

jpentz@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6238

Davin Quinn, MD

Associate Professor
Division Chief, Behavioral Health Consultation and Integration
Training Director, Psychosomatic Fellowship
Attending Psychiatrist, UNMPC and UNMH

Adult, Education, Neuroscience, Psychosomatic, Research

dquinn@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4763

Alya Reeve, MD Professor Emeritus of Psychiatry, Neurology and Pediatrics
 
Child, Neuroscience 

areeve@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-2395

Jennifer Rielage, PhD, Assistant Professor
Clinical Psychologist, VAMC
VA 

@salud.unm.edu

(505) 925-2395

Elizabeth Romero, M.D Assistant Professor Attending Psychiatrist, UNMPC Psychiatric Emergency Service Adult

(505) 272-2920

Paul Romo, MD Assistant Professor
Medical Director, ASAP
Medical Director, Dual Diagnosis Clinic
Attending Addictions Psychiatrist, ASAP and UNMPC
Addictions

promo@salud.unm.edu

(505) 994-7999

Rashmi Sabu, MD Associate Professor
Attending Psychiatrist, Children’s Psychiatric Center
Child, Community, Education 

rsabu@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Joseph Sadek, PhD Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Neurology
Supervisor, Neuropsychological Assessment, VAMC
Neuroscience, Research, VA

jsadek@unm.edu

(505) 265-1711 x. 5407

Julie Salvador, PhD Assistant Professor
Behavioral Health Services Research
Community Behavioral Health Division
Community, Research

jgsalvador@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6238

Donna Sigl, MD, MS

Professor
Assistant Dean for Faculty Affairs
Vice Chair for Administration and Finance
UNM Medical Group Physician Liaison
Attending Psychiatrist, Children’s Psychiatric Center

Child, Education

dsigl@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Shawn Sidhu, MD

Assistant Professor
Training Director, Child & Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship
Attending Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist

Child, Community

ssidhu@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2890

Helene Silverblatt, MD Professor, Psychiatry and Family and Community Medicine
Director of Adult Programs, CBH
Executive Director for Behavioral Health, Office of the Vice President for Community Health
Executive Director, Office for Community Faculty
Psychiatrist, Trans Disciplinary Evaluation and support clinic for adults with developmental disabilities
Community, Education, Psychosomatic

hsilverblatt@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6238

Pedro Simpson, MD

Assistant Professor
Medical Director, VAMC Inpatient Geriatric Psychiatry Unit

Geriatric

pedro.simpson@va.gov

(505) 265-1711

Lindsay Smart, PhD

Assistant Professor
Director of Child Psychology Internship Program
Clinical Director, EARLY Program
Clinical psychologist, Children’s Psychiatric Center

Child, Community

lsmart@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-6238

Kristina Sowar, MD

Assistant Professor
Medical Director, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Emergency Service
Attending Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Children’s Psychiatric Center

Child, Education

ksowar@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2890

Poone Haghani Tehrani, MD Assistant Professor of Psychiatry Attending Psychiatrist, SRMC Adult, SRMC

phaghanitehrani@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Robert Thoma, PhD Associate Professor
Clinical Psychologist and Neuropsychologist
Neuroscience

rjthoma@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-8833

Mauricio Tohen, MD, DrPH, MBA Professor
Department Chairman
Attending psychiatrist, UNMPC and UPC Clinics
Adult, Neuroscience, Research

mtohen@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4357

Emiliano Valles, MD Assistant Professor
Medical Director, Consultation Liaison Service
Assistant Clerkship Director, Medical Student Education
Attending Psychiatrist, Consultation Liaison Service, outpatient clinics and PES
 
Adult, Psychosomatic

EValles@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2223

Gerardo Villarreal, MD Professor of Psychiatry and Neurosciences
Medical Director, PTSD Program, New Mexico VA Healthcare System,
Attending Psychiatrist, Veterans Administration Medical Center,
Research Division Faculty Consultant
Co-Director Brief Therapies Training Clinic

Neuroscience, Research, VA

gerardo.villarreal@va.gov

(505) 265-1711 x. 4936

Ann Waldorf, PhD Associate Professor
Vice Chair for Behavioral Sciences
Clinical Psychologist, ASAP, UNMPC and UPC Clinics

Adult, Community

VWaldorf@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-4167

Elizabeth Weil, MD Associate Professor
Medical Director, STEPP and MIDD
Associate Residency Training Director, Outpatient Services, UNMPC
Attending Psychiatrist, STEPP Clinic and Psychiatric Emergency Service
Adult, Community, Education

erweil@salud.unm.edu

(505) 272-2853